Snow Driving 101, Plus an FO

I should preface this whole rant by saying that I love snow. Seriously, deeply and truly. Love. It.

What I can’t stand are people who don’t know how to drive in it.

Trying to get to work. Behind a bus. Being towed by a dump truck. Going 10 mph. On the worst snow plow-job ever. FML.

Now, we got whalloped yesterday with snow of epic proportions, so I kind of understand the roads being less than awesome the next day. However, this is New England and, from time to time, we do get some snow during the winter. Shocking, I know, but history will support this. So I don’t get why we’re all so shocked when we get slapped by Mother Nature with some serious white-age.

All that being said, I’m not a 4-wheel-driver. My first car had it; it was fabulous. That car broke. I got a new one. A little one, subcompact-style. Very fuel efficient and cute. And freaking KILLER in the snow. This car is unstoppable. I’ve never gotten totally stuck. Ever. But idiot snow drivers threaten to bring my bad-ass-mobile down constantly. So, as a public service message here’s my tips for the not-so-snow-savvy motoring public.

  • Don’t brake. Seriously. An attribute of the modern automatic-transmission automobile is that, if you simply lift your foot off the gas pedal, the car will slow down. CRAZY, I know, but I assure you its the truth. So don’t brake. If you brake, you will slide. And if you’re following the car in front of you so closely during a snow storm that you’re forced to slam on your brakes when they tap their’s, you’re probably just going to slide into them anyways. And you just learned a valuable lesson about proper following distance. Just say no to braking.
  • Maintain forward motion. If you stop, you might not start again. Momentum is a beautiful thing. Embrace it.
  • Don’t be a dumb ass. So simple, but such a difficult concept to grasp.

And that’s it! Wow. I feel so much better now.  End rant.

********

So, because of the Epic Snow, I got to stay home from work yesterday. I used my free time wisely and finished my Girasole. I love her.

Isn’t she lovely?

I have almost two full skeins of yarn left over, so go me on finally having an adequate yardage estimate. I’d heard stories about the edging on this pattern, and they didn’t disappoint. The edging took forever to work over those 640 stitches. But it was totally worth it in the end.

Simon was *very* helpful with the blocking process. So helpful, that I’ve already had to fix two pulls suffered from his little claws.

The pattern itself  isn’t terribly difficult, and I liked that it was broken up into a whole mess of smaller charts. It would have been monotonous, but the excitement of getting to start new charts all the time helped keep it moving.

Another close-up

The final piece is about 60 inches in diameter, plenty big to curl up with on the couch. While knitting, I had some concerns about how I was going to actually block this, and it needed a serious blocking. I don’t have an abundance of floor space, and leaving it in the middle of the living room for three days — where two eager cats could have their way with it while I’m at work — was not an attractive option.

Then, I had a stroke of brilliance and decided to try steam. It took me and my iron an hour and three cups of water, but I got a nice even block on her. Not as hard a block as I usually want on lace, but it’s a damn blanket, not a shawl. I’m really happy with the results.

The view from the couch: I love how happy and sunny it is!

So, there it is, the first FO of 2011! And Operation Stash Containment continues. Still loving the stashdown, too.

After I wrapped up Girasole, I dug out two skeins for my next project and got to casting on.

Sanguine Gryphon Free Range in “Ixworth”

Sanguine Gryphon Free Range in "Cochin"

You know I love me some colorwork.

8 thoughts on “Snow Driving 101, Plus an FO

  1. Girasole’s beautiful. And I’m with you – my favorite car to drive in the snow was my Saturn sports coupe, that I drove 6 of 8 years in Syracuse. It was low to the ground, powerful and could get through anything. Plus, I didn’t drive like an f-ing moron in the snow – except that one time, when I landed in a ditch. Lesson learned.

  2. Emilee says:

    It’s gorgeous!

  3. JJ says:

    Hey, what kind of car do you drive? I have 4WD, but I am thinking about downsizing to something that is less of a gas hog. My Escape Hybrid isn’t as bad as most with fuel economy, but it’s not awesome, and I have to drive pretty far for work these days.

    • weaselmomma says:

      I have a 2005 Hyundai Accent. I bought her brand new, and I get about 30 miles to the gallon highway with very little upkeep. She’s fantastic, tiny but I love her.

      They’ve redesigned the Accent since then, so I don’t know about the newer models, but mine’s front-wheel drive and the frame is heavier than some other subcompacts, so she handles really nice in the snow.

      • JJ says:

        Thanks. 30mph on the highway isn’t that much better than I get now with the Escape hybrid. I was thinking about the VW diesels, but I won’t really be in the market until next winter at the earliest.

  4. kazkitty says:

    Gotta love these crazy new england drivers… >_<

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Girasole!!! It's absolutely beautiful and looks perfect on your couch.

  5. Allison says:

    Is that the yellow cascade?

    It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

