Breaking All the Rules

I never, ever, ever blog specifically about work. In fact, it’s against my rules. No work on this blog. I work in politics, and I want no politics here.

But, just this once, I’m breaking my rules. Because, on Wednesday (and, yes, it has taken me two days to recover) I was witness to something so epically awesome that I would be totally remiss if I didn’t post about it here.

The Daily Show’s John Oliver looks like he’s about to crash into me right here. I assure you, he’s not. I’m about 6 feet away using a super mega lens. His comment after skidding his bicycle to a stop, “God, the inner eight-year-old in me loves that sound.”

My job on Wednesday was to document the day…the day being of the 10-hour variety on location with a crew from The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and correspondent/comedian/very cool guy John Oliver.

My colleague, Taylor, in a haz-mat suit and gas mask. This all makes sense, I assure you…well, sort of…

Now, I’ve gotten to do a lot of very cool things in my job, but this by far took the taco. Not only did I get to play photographer all day, which is always a blast, I got to do it for a Daily Show shoot. Seriously, I should just retire right now. It’s never going to get any better than this.

Cameraman Ryan waiting to start shooting a new scene. This is one of my favorite shots of the day.

I won’t give away any the gripping details here, because that would totally spoil the surprise. The piece is set to air sometime in December, after Thanksgiving and once they edit the more than 30 tapes they shot over the day, and I really can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Shooting an outdoor scene. These guys were total pros.

Instead, I’ll leave you with a parting candid shot of Oliver (who the crew does not call “John,” BTW, because “John” is Jon Stewart…little bit of insider info for ya, there)…

Seriously, this is one very funny man right here.

…and my one-and-only, exausted, freezing cold, wind-burned fangirl moment.

A very long, very awesome day

Not a bad way to spend a day at work.

4 thoughts on “Breaking All the Rules

  1. tgulling says:

    Look! I think my necklace is getting more wear from it’s new owner. She looks happy!

  2. Paula Zenick says:

    Wow. Working with John Oliver. What fun that must have been! If they don’t call him “John” what do they call him?

  3. […] December 9, 2010 @ 10:33 am } · { Uncategorized } Ten hours of shooting all comes down to this little piece of […]

Leave a Reply

