Saying Good-bye, or The End of an Era

Wednesday, I said good-bye to Leroy. It was not unexpected, but still tough.

It was tougher still on Miranda. I said good-bye to her yesterday.

Leroy and Miranda, bestest of buddies, at a much happier time

Also not unexpected, especially with her best buddy gone. Ferrets bond very closely; on top of her illness, the heartache of losing her cagemate and being alone for the first time in her entire life was too much. I expected her to give up very quickly after losing Leroy, and I’m grateful that she wasn’t alone very long.

At one end of my house, life was just beginning; at the other, it was ending—something not lost on me at all in the past week.

So, this week marks an end of an era for me. The Decade of Weasels is over.

It’s kind of surreal. There’s no ferret cage anymore. There’s no more playtime at night. No more emergency trips to Target for litter, all-purpose cleaner and paper towels for cage cleaning. No more little jars of chicken baby food on hand for when someone isn’t feeling good. No sound of someone lapping at a water bottle.

None of that. Just an empty space where the cage used to be.

Ten years of work and laughter and tears and vet visits and weasel kisses and frustration and lots and lots of Febreeze…just done. Just like that.

Very weird.

So, I can now convert the ferret room into a room for the kittens, which will be good, because I was more than a little worried about how badly they’d destroy my house if allowed to run loose while I’m at work. My plans to convert it into a den with extra sleeping space can go on hold for the next two months. There’s a bonus.

I won’t change the blog name/URL or my Rav handle because, really, it’d just be too much of a hassle.

And I’ll just distract myself with the five new little lives that’ll be taking over the ferret room.

Rest sweetly, my kiddos. I love you, and I’m so very glad you’re at peace together.

10 thoughts on “Saying Good-bye, or The End of an Era

  1. Sending love and comforting thoughts your way. It’s never easy, even when it’s time. *hugs*

  2. Emilee says:

    Awww, I’m so sorry hon. HUGS

  3. Cathy Williams says:

    Sending you hugs and prayers. My condolences on your loss.

  4. tgulling says:

    I’m sorry for you loss.

  5. Walden says:

    I’m so sorry, it’s always hard to lose a loved one, especially two. Positive thought being sent your way.

  6. Amy says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss… Daniel and I both send our condolences.

  7. Geetu says:

    I’m so sorry … of course it hurts. I’m sending you warm positive thoughts that your pain eases soon, and you’re left with the wonderful memories.

    hugs
    geetu

  8. Allison says:

    You will be missed little ferrets.

Leave a Reply

