Tour de Fleece: Day 18 Progress Edition

Despite all the kitten excitement and the myriad distractions all around me, I’ve done pretty well in my first Tour de Fleece so far.

I’ve spun every day of the tour except July 15—which, given that there were brand new kitties to oggle, I think that’s understandable—so I’m planning to skip tomorrow’s day of rest and keep on going. I technically already took a rest day, so I think that’ll make up for it.

One of my goals was to get all the random skeins I’ve finished over the past few months washed, thwacked, put up, labelled and stashed away.

Finally officially done

Success! I’d accumulated quite a few—seven, to be exact—random skeins that needed finishing. Such a slacker. Well, they’re finished now. And two of them never got any attention here. Time to remedy that.

First is “Soft Forest Light”—261 yards of fingering weight Navajo ply out of two ounces of angora/bombyx silk blend from Corgi Hill Farm, finished just before Tour de Fleece began.

Super soft stuff

I should come right out and say it: I’m so not crazy about this.

I loved the fiber as it was in the top, and spinning it was a nice challenge. The angora would matt down on itself in my hand, so I was constantly fluffing and re-fluffing, and the short staple was a good change of pace for me.

Meh…

But the color. Oh, I really don’t like the color. In the top, the colors were vibrant and deep. But only on the surface fibers. The inside of the top was white white white, which totally washed out all the colors except for the initial dark brown section. The result is more pastel and muted than I wanted, and parts look muddy to me.

Eh….

It’s not awful, but it’s not my cup of tea. It is nice and soft and it has a lovely halo. Maybe I’ll make something with it. Or maybe I’ll just give it away to someone who actually loves it. We’ll see…

This next one, though, was my first completed Tour de Fleece project, and it’s the exact opposite of Soft Forest Light. This is “Surf Song,” and I love love love it!

Soooo pretty!

Fingering weight two-ply, spun from 4.5 ounces of BFL/tussah silk top, also dyed by Corgi Hill Farm. I got 507 yards out of the top, spun on my Spanish Peacock spindle and plied on Evelyn.

Swirls of blue

This blend was amazing to spin, and the dye-job was perfect. It did bleed a little on my hands, and it shed some dye in the wash as well, but none of that did anything to lessen the beautiful colors.

Better than I ever could have hoped for

Two-plying on the wheel was awesome, too. So much faster. There’s not really much more to say about this one…except don’t be surprised if you see it at Rhinebeck this year. I do think it wants to go to Rhinebeck.

OK, last one of this, I promise…

But that’s not all, folks! This has been a productive Tour thus far!

I also got all four ounces of these Cocoa Latte batts…

Dreamy soft batts

…spun into fingering weight singles. They’re baby alpaca, cashmere and tussah twice-blended batts from…wait for it…Corgi Hill Farm. Shocking, I know.

First skein, little over 400 yards, on the niddy to rest before finishing

There’s two skeins of these. The first finished really nicely; the second is resting on the niddy noddy for a couple days before washing and finishing. They’re far more successful than my first set of singles, so I’m pretty psyched. They’re also nice and soft and slightly textured from the silk.

Proper pics to come once the second skein is finished.

Finally, in non-Corgi Tour de Fleece action, I finished up all the superwash merino/bamboo lacewight singles from the Dyeing for Colour top that I had on Evelyn.

The new bobbins make Evelyn an extremely productive production wheel.

I’ll have it plied up and finished before the end of the Tour, I think…barring anything unforseen, of course.

Thursday is Challenge Day, so I’ll either work on the crazy cobweb bombyx or on the locks I’m tail-spinning into an art yarn. Or maybe both. I can only work on that silk in small doses; it makes my hands crampy. And the Tour ends on Sunday! Whew! Maybe I’ll cast on a new knitting project in celebration…I may have felt the bite of the Sweater Bug recently…

In unrelated news, the kittens are six days old now.

I know. So sweet they make your teeth rot just looking at ‘um.

They’re growing like crazy! I’m working on maintaining interspecies harmony in the house. It’s a bit of a struggle right now. Protective mommy is protective. Scaredy puppy is scaredy. Squirty bottle is squirty.

7 thoughts on “Tour de Fleece: Day 18 Progress Edition

  1. Emilee says:

    Squee!!!! kittens!!!!

    ahem

    Your spinning continues to amaze me. So which of these beauties are going to Rhinebeck? 😉

    • weaselmomma says:

      Surf Song, for sure, is going to Rhinebeck, and if the superwash merino/bamboo laceweight comes out nice, it’s going, too.

      Plus, I have two other already finished skeins that are going, and big plans for more entries as well. I plan to represent hardcore this year 😀

  2. Allison says:

    Lovely all around.

    Snuggle kitties for me.

    • weaselmomma says:

      I’ve been snuggling them against my chest. I figure I need to find you another motor-boater. There’s a couple potentials 😉

  3. kazkitty says:

    Lots of pretties!

    And there needs to be more kitty pictures please! 😉

    • weaselmomma says:

      I tried taking more pics tonight, but the babies were *not* cooperating at all.

      One of the little gray ones is starting to open his/her eyes already, though, so I’ll try again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

