Eye Candy Friday – Pie Precourser Edition

Yesterday, I walked to the farmer’s market near my office with some coworkers to grab some lunch and also picked up these beautiful stalks of fresh rubarb. They looked amazing and, since I’m on furlough from work today, I’ve got big plans for pie.

The fresh produce market across the street has the most amazing looking things, so I’ll hopefully be supplementing the rubarb with some beautiful strawberries for this pie from Smitten Kitchen.

I love strawberry rubarb pie. I’m even going to try my hand at homemade pie crust. I know…be impressed.

Is it wrong that, instead of going to a recipe site, I now go to Smitten Kitchen first when I’m looking to make something fabulous?

Also, it’s officially been a month since I started the limoncello, which means it’s officially time for straining and simple-syrup and, in a few more weeks, bottling. Yay! So, that’s on the agenda for today as well.

Finally, the girls and I are going to the big farmer’s market on Sunday, and I’m totally psyched. I have my little heart set on a whole mess of fresh blueberries, which are just coming into season here. I have a strong desire for fresh pies and muffins and especially this milkshake, for which I will brave the throes of lactose intolerance because, wow…that looks amazing.

So, agave nectar’s on my list of things to pick up today. Perhaps along with another bunch of lemons and more vodka. This four-day weekend’s going to be delicious.

Happy Friday, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Eye Candy Friday – Pie Precourser Edition

  1. Have you never made your own pie crust? Its soooo easy! You’ll do it once and get a feel for it – from there, how much water to add is intuitive. My favorite tip, from my Dad who makes amazing pies, is to roll it out on a sheet of waxed paper – it makes transferring from counter to pie plate much easier 🙂

    Have fun!

    • weaselmomma says:

      The Pillsbury dough boy and his delightful pre-made crusts are a girl’s best friend, though after today I may have to dump him 😉

      I was a little worried, as I don’t have a food processor or a pastry blender, but I just used my hands to mix the dough and used Smitten Kitchen’s recipe. It came out delicious!

  2. kazkitty says:

    Ou pie! I don’t think I’ve ever had strawberry rhubarb pie.. but it always looks delicious.

    And yay for farmer’s market tomorrow! I’ve never been to one before, so I’m really excited!

Leave a Reply

