The New Roomie: Day 4

So far—aside from waking me up at 4:30 a.m. by antoganizing the poor snake, pushing the fan off the dresser and knocking over the ceramic pot of chives—we’ve had very few incidents.

Madori’s given up her I-want-cat-food-so-bad-I-will-not-eat-my-dog-food hunger strike, scratching things and kitty toys have been strategically stationed around the apartment and all potential Tilly bait has been secured.

Or so I thought. I came home today to my first kitty casualty.

Thanks, Til…

Yup. There it is. The ball of handspun merino/yak leftover from my Selbu Modern, now a chewed, knotted mess…dug out of the one bag that wasn’t tied securely shut.

Well, it is now.

I should be able to save most of it, but not all. In her younger days, I would have called Madori a suspect in this crime as well. But, the whole mess was left in a very conspicuous spot, right on top of a certain feline’s new favorite thing in the whole wide world: her cardboard scratcher.

Don’t believe a word of it…I’m innocent, I tell ya

In other, happier, fiber news, I finished Navajo plying my first singles off Evelyn’s one bobbin onto Little Joe last night.

The first of many

I got 157 yards of light worsted weight out of this Ashland Bay merino/tussah. It still needs a good washing, and it’s heavier than I typically spin, but for our first partnership, I’m calling it a success.

A very squishy yarn!

Ok, ok, I’ll admit it: I cut probably 20 yards off the skein. It was thick-and-thin, from the start of the bobbin, and it really made me cringe. Had the whole skein looked that way, it wouldn’t have been a big deal. But I couldn’t stand just a few yards being so sloppy while the rest was so nice.

This’ll be something nice, after a good washing that is

With Evelyn’s bobbin cleared off, what I *should* have done was pack up the bobbin and the flyer and give the whole thing to Mark, so he could make me a couple more bobbins. Then I’d really be in business.

But, of course, what I *should* have done isn’t what I *actually* did.

Impulse control??? Yeah, right…

Instead, I decided to see what I could do with the smaller setting on the whorl. Turns out, I can get way finer than I thought.

Awwwww, yeah…that’s the stuff right there…

This is superwash merino/bamboo from Dyeing for Colour, and I’ve been saving it for a special occasion, because I bought it to spin and enter in the blended skein class at Rhinebeck this year.

I love how it’s streaked with color.

Well, I’d call Evelyn’s first laceweight a pretty special occasion. But, I’ve still got quite a bit of this four ounce bump left to spin.

And speaking of bumps, I managed to get this not-great-but-effective pic while Miss Tilly was doing her leg-molesting thing.

Skinny little cat with a bulging little belly

Those sure look like baby bumps to me! I keep feeling for kitten movement in there, but no such luck as of yet. She’s pretty sensitive about her belly, though, and won’t let me keep my hands on it for too long.

She’s also eating me out of house and home. Though she’s in really good shape for a stray, she’s clearly not been getting all the nutrition a preggo kitty needs. Well, I’m an admitted pet food snob, and since we’re a Wellness household, she’s sure making up for it now!

I also think she might have some Bengal or some other weird bloodline in her (Kanaani, maybe? Her tufted ears throw me…they’re really unusual)…

What, oh what, will my kittens look like???

…cuz she sure is a pretty little girl.

3 thoughts on “The New Roomie: Day 4

  1. kazkitty says:

    Yay I’m happy things are working out with Miss Tilly! She’s soooo adorable. 😀

    And look at you go with Evelyn! Wowzers!

  2. Emilee says:

    Aww, deh kitteh.

    I’m so impressed with the laceweight. That will be gorgeous!

  3. […] Yesterday, I came home from work, only to find that a certain someone had managed to scale the bookshelf, steal all the handspun yarn I unwittingly though would be safe up there, chew through the ziplock freezer bag I thought was protective and slobber all over the aforementioned yak/merino handspun. […]

Leave a Reply

