Sweet Little Kitty Says, “Don’t Forget to Enter the Giveaway!”

I should preface this whole thing by saying that I am not a cat person.

Uh, oh….

We always had dogs when I was growing up, but I desperately wanted a cat. My mom came home from work one day with an 8-week-old kitten they’d pulled out of a dumpster at her work. He was scrawny and covered in grease, and I loved him instantly. He grew into the nastiest jerk of a cat and used to crap in my room, behind my stereo, and I’d always find it at 11:00 at night when I was completely exhaused after school all day followed by a 7-hour shift

Jerk.

I love Allison’s cat, Salem, but he’s not really much of a cat. More like a dog who someone dropped on its head as a puppy. So, imagine my surprise at the ridiculously strong desire to bring a cat into my crazy little life. Not just any cat, though. This sweet little green-eyed one.

Who, me?

There’s a lot of strays in my yard. I’ve had to break up a couple catfights, and most of them run away when I come near. But not this little one. She came right up to me, purring away.

And, more importantly, she came right up to Madori.

She really has a thing for Madori.

Little kitty shows up every few days. I’m really hoping she lives somewhere in the neighborhood—her friendliness is really unusual—but she’s clearly not spayed and she doesn’t have a collar. I also live on a very busy street; the idea of her roaming around with all the traffic makes me really nervous for her. The temptation to snatch her up is stupid strong.

I don’t need a cat, I don’t need a cat, I don’t need a cat, I don’t need a cat…

Anywho, we’ll see how this all works out. In the meantime, sweet little kitty would like to remind you…

Obey da kitteh! Enter the giveaway!

…that comments for the big giveaway close tonight!! I’m completely overwhelmed by the response, and so excited to draw the winner!!

I’m also thinking that more giveaways will have to be in my future. It’s just been way too fun to read all the comments…and I do have my third blog-o-versary coming up in a few more months!

8 thoughts on “Sweet Little Kitty Says, “Don’t Forget to Enter the Giveaway!”

  1. Allison says:

    But who will get all the belly rubs and kitty love when Salem is in West Virginia….

    Sometimes we pick the animal and sometimes they pick us.

  2. Al’s right – she picked you. you know you want her 🙂

    • weaselmomma says:

      I probably should have mentioned this in the post, but there is a slight issue with Miss Madori’s penchant to…ahem…sample from kitty litter boxes. It’s one of her few really, really gross habits.

      I’d have to devise a method for preventing that before this could go any further…

      • tgulling says:

        Did you get one of those cat boxes? My parents have one with a top on it and then have the opening int he corner. The cat can get in, but the dog can’t. You can try adding meat tenderizer to the cat’s food or feed the cat a substance from the pet store or vet that makes the stool distastful.

  3. kazkitty says:

    Ooohhh she’s ADORABLE.

    You could get one of those litter boxes like this:
    http://www.amazon.com/Clevercat-Top-Entry-Litter-Box/dp/B0002ZS20I/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header

    It’s weird, but maybe she couldn’t get in it to eat kitty presents…

    • weaselmomma says:

      Oh, that kind of box would work totally keep Madori out…but I’m so torn!

      Kitty showed up again tonight, and Madori was soooo jealous! Like really, really jealous. I gave kitty some tuna, which she wolfed down like it was her last meal…but Madori was not happy while I was petting that kitty.

      So torn…

  4. mxracer23 says:

    I’ll donate the sales from a spindle to buy you kitty supplies if you save her!

Leave a Reply

