My 100th Post Giveaway!

In September 2007, I said goodbye to Livejournal—which had sustained me through my college years—and started this little blog thinking no one would ever read my drivel or give a hoot about the little slice of my crazy life that I share here.

Well, I was totally wrong!

Despite my need to keep a lot of my life away from this space, it’s become an outlet for me to share my creative ordeals—something that takes a total backseat in a professional life that’s dominated by my slow climb up the political ladder—and you, dear readers, just keep coming back. I love it. Thank you for taking a little time to read my silliness!

So, in thanks to you, dear readers, here’s the promised Official 100th Blog Post Giveaway! And, taking a page from The Brightside Project, which did a month of giveaways based on bloggers’ favorite things, one dear reader will get three of my favorite things, starting with this hand-sewn-by-yours-truly drawstring project bag:

Ta-da!

The outside is pretty printed cotton, the inside is a sparkly cotton-blend, it’s fully reversable, and it’s big enough to hold a little more than 4 ounces of wool and a spindle or your favorite small knitting project.

Ties up with a white nylon ribbon

Inside the bag, one dear reader will be the proud owner of this 2.1 ounce hank of handpainted bombyx silk from one of my favorite indie dyers, Fiber Fancy:

The colors are even more vibrant in person!

The colorway is “Tidal Wave,” and it’s a beautiful piece of smooth silk brick. If you’ve ever spun bombyx, you know how far 2 ounces will go! This stuff makes a fine, strong, shiny yarn.

Finally, you’d have a tough time spinning that silk without, you know, a really awesome spindle. So, one dear reader will also win this brand new custom top-whorl drop spindle from my buddy at Two Tails Woodturning:

Pretty, pretty!

This is a 3-inch lignum vitae whorl set on an East Indian rosewood shaft. She weighs in right around an ounce and spins like a dream. And spinning a lignum vitae spindle is a total sensory experience. The wood—which gets even greener the more it’s exposed to sunlight—has a beautiful herringbone-figured grain and smells very strongly of lemons. A real treat while it’s spinning!

Yeah, Mark’s gots some skills

So there you have it! You have no idea how excited I am to give this away!

Now here’s the rules:

  • To enter to win, all you have to do is leave me a comment answering this question: Silk is by far my favorite fiber to spin; what’s yours? And, if you’re a new spinner (or not a spinner at all…yet!), what’s your favorite fiber to knit or crochet?
  • Comments will be open for one week, until approximately 10:00 p.m. EST on Thursday, June 10, 2010.
  • Only one entry per person. Commenting more than once is cool, but only one entry will count.
  • Once comments close, I’ll do a random drawing. The lucky winner will be announced here on June 11.
  • Feel free to tell your friends!
Yay, giveaway!

Happy commenting, everyone!

***ETA: Comments are now closed. Thanks for playing everyone! The winner will be announced tomorrow.***

68 thoughts on “My 100th Post Giveaway!

  1. bsveum says:

    **drools** That’s some pretty pretty silk there. I’ve never spun silk, but I intend to try some time this summer (a thin blue silk ply with a fat puffy pure white merino single… it shall sit in a bowl and be pretty because I’d never be able to knit it).

    Anyway, favorite fiber. I love me some superwash merino. I don’t have a lot of experience with many fibers (mostly just merino, domestic top, and four ounces of shetland that never ended), but a slippery soft superwash merino is my favorite, hands down.

  2. bloreknitter says:

    I am not a spinner, but I love knitting with soft cotton yarn. I love the soft feel on my fingers.

  3. mawebb says:

    I recently found Targhee. It is by far my favorite fiber as it has a little feel of silk to it, a little bounce of merino, super soft, airy, and spins on a spindle like you have never seen. Handling it is almost a divine experience. I found it as a sample on a spindle sent to me, with a note that the tuft came from Sweet Grass Wool. I immediately ordered a pound of it. Then I ordered two pounds of it. At this rate I shall be spinning enough to make a blanket for me out of it. Even tightly spun worsted style, it remains soft and supple. Yes, Divine is the right word for it. It needs a Two Tails Lignum Vitae Spindle to complete its spiritual circle. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  4. divinebird says:

    I can’t pick a favorite fiber but ONE of my favorites is Romney. I love my BFL and silk is a dream, but Romney is a good, tough, not-too-soft but not-too-scratchy wool that takes dye like a champ. It makes me happy. Which is good, because I have a Romney fleece sitting in my yarn bathroom right now, patiently waiting to be processed. 🙂

    Happy 100th-post-versary! 🙂

  5. Happy 100th post!

    My favorite fiber to spin is BFL – soft, easy to spin, and of course, great for dyeing. As for knitting – 50/50 merino/silk blends are my very favorite.

  6. Emilee says:

    Happy 100th!

    I haven’t spun much yet, but my favorite so far has been bright blue BFL dyed by Kris 😉

    I actually really like to knit with workhorse wool, like Cascade 220 or a simple fingering, because it allows the pattern to capture more of the attention.

  7. Allison says:

    Cashmere… it’s like spinning clouds made of butter.

    At least silk isn’t my least favorite — I still reserve that for the alpaca.

    The spindle is gorgeous and smells wonderful.

  8. I love BFL for its softness and sheen. Its also not a showboat like merino.

  9. irishelf514 says:

    So far my favorite thing to spin has been coopworth wool, but I’m still new and experimenting. My favorite thing to knit is alpaca, its sooo soft 🙂

  10. […] Don’t make the Spindle be homeless – take one for the team peeps. All you have to do is go here and tell Jacie what kind of fiber you like to […]

  11. crochata says:

    That spindle is just gorgeous. My favourite fibre to spin is Falkland – I spun a braid for an internet friend & it practically spun itself.

  12. urnski says:

    So far, my favorite spinning fiber is Rambouillet – I love its softness and loft. I haven’t had a chance tor try Bombyx silk yet!

  13. sploops says:

    Wow, just wow. The bag and fiber are some of my fave colors. So beautiful! The spindle, I’m a secret admirer of Two Tails! Been drooling ever since they were first brought up in the LSG Spinner group.

    My favorite fiber to spin, that’s such a tough call. I want to say I’m in love with the soy silk/superwash blend I’ve been working on. But the Alpaca I’m spinning right now comes from my mom’s own baby (one of them). The alpaca is way harder to spin, but satisfying because I’ve been with it since it was on the animal itself, helped shear him, picked and washed and now I’m turning it into yarn!
    So for ease of spinning and beauty I say soysilk/superwash blend. For all around awesomeness, the alpca!

  14. gaupe says:

    My favouite fiber to spin is hand-combed tops from a good finewool fleece. Not too harshly processed, soft, unbelievebaly fluffy, and locally produced. For me, you can’t beat that!

  15. amaranthology says:

    I love love love to spin with Alpaca. It is my absolutely favorite fiber. Its so soft and can be used for so much. Some lofty things some very solid. Its a strong fiber too and works well in almost anything. It also combines well with other fibers giving it amazing drape.

  16. mytinkertots says:

    I love samples of just about any fiber you can get off an animal. Give me a quarter-ounce, and I’ll happily spin it up! Silk, alpaca, angora, llama, yak, cashmere, Corriedale, Jacob, Merino, Wensleydale, Falkland, Targhee, Punta, Cormo, CVM, Ramboulliet, Romney… anything I can get my hands on!

    I do have a special place in my heart for Targhee wool. It is really enjoyable to spin and I love that it’s an American breed. I’m looking forward to getting more of it, once I work my way through all the rest of the samples I still need to spin!

  17. jobodesigns says:

    What a Lovely Prize!

    My favorite thing to spin is Wool… I have a hard time deciding what my favorite wool is though, since there are so many great ones out there – Merino, Corriedale, Polworth, Angora, etc.

    I love spinning from hand carded rolags 🙂

    Jolene
    http://www.JoboDesigns.com

  18. syaldia says:

    My favorite thing to spin so far is milk protein. I’ve been trying to spin angora rabbit lately, and am finding it painful.

    • weaselmomma says:

      I have some milk in my stash, but haven’t spun it yet. Any tips on working with it?

  19. craftygirl83 says:

    My favorite fiber to spin is by far Polwarth! Merino is a close second, though.

    As for knitting, I love merino/silk blends. The shine and softness… oh my! 🙂

  20. kazkitty says:

    congrats on the 100th post!
    I’m not sure what my fav fiber is… I really enjoy spinning a variety of different wools and blends.
    One at the top of the list is BFL. It’s nice and light and fluffy, easy to draft. And spins into a smooshy awesome skein of yarn.
    🙂

  21. I really love the feel of BFL, but I haven’t explored a lot of other fibers. I also enjoy batts that are blends of multiple fibers, etc.

  22. flintk says:

    I’ve never spun anything, but I’ve always wanted to try! I love to knit with Alpaca–it’s so soft and warm. I would hope spinning it would be as enjoyable! My dream is to own a small farm with a few Alpaca so that I can spin my own yarn!

  23. mauradoesnotspin says:

    My favorite fiber to knit is merino although I also enjoy a merino-silk blend. And hopefully if I win one free spinning lesson will be included in my prize 🙂

    Happy 100th!

  24. Caitlin says:

    Hello! I found your blog off of Ravelry, congrats on 100 posts! I have drop spindled in the past, just a couple of times. I really like the fibers with silk blends too. My favorite fiber to knit with is merino! I love how different brands of yarn can make different blends. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

  25. me215 says:

    Congratulations on your 100th post!!

    As you know, no spinning favorites here yet, but for knitting my favorites are merino, silk and cashmere so far. And I’m always ready to try new yarn. 🙂

  26. basicknits says:

    I like blended fibers, especially ones with something interesting like angora or yak.

  27. CCFibers says:

    I don’t have a true favorite fiber to spin, though I seem to spin merino most often… what I really enjoy spinning is blends of fibers, batts of any type, and all things silky smooth.

  28. rhertling says:

    I just started to learn how to spin, so the only thing I have used so far is wool

    I love to knit with alpaca! It is so very soft!

  29. oncofreak says:

    Congrats on your 100th post!

    I haven’t done a lot of spinning, but enjoy knitting minimally processed merino. Something about seeing the veggie matter and being able to smell the lanolin gives me such joy.

  30. harahune says:

    Of the fibers I’ve tried, I think my absolute favorite to spin is bfl/tussah I just spun up recently. It was my first wheel spun fiber and it was /amazing/ to spin with. The only thing I didn’t like about it was it left little fibery fuzzes all over my clothes. I need to get more next time I can.

    • weaselmomma says:

      I actually just started spinning some BFL/tussah from Corgi Hill Farm, and I’m really digging it.

  31. teabird says:

    Your friend doesn’t have any spindles in his shop right now (pout)

    I’m a new spinner, and I like bfl best, so far – easiest to draft….

    teabird / from Ravelry

    • Allison says:

      There’s 25 spindles in the rough….soon there will be spindles.

      • weaselmomma says:

        Yup, just as Allison says 🙂

        Mark is a brand-new spindlemaker. He’s finishing his first round of custom orders and building new stock for his etsy shop. He’ll have lots of new pretties soon! 🙂

  32. vthuskies says:

    For the last couple of years I have tended toward spinning BFL. More recently I’ve really gotten into Merino/Silk blends, yum! Some came with my Jenkins spindle and I’ve been on a merino/silk buying bender over at Etsy. I’d love to have another spindle to spin up all of the fiber that I ordered!

  33. tfb826 says:

    That is a beautiful spindle. Very nice work!

    I’m a fairly new spinner and haven’t had the chance to work with a lot of fibers yet. So far I’m partial to BFL because I find it really comfortable to practice with. But I just ordered some Merino/Yak blend I’m really looking forward to!

  34. puddytatpurr says:

    Ohhhh, I’ve just discovered angora – soooooooo soft so I’m loving that at the moment. I also adore alpaca. I bought some 70/30 alpaca/merino last year that I’ve been saving for the Tour de Fleece next month – 500g of it! I’m going to spin it laceweight and knit a shawl out of it!

  35. stringlingo says:

    Oh that silk is gorgeous! I love Tussah silk but have yet to try bombyx. My favorite fiber to spin is Falkland or merino blends. Would depend on the day for me to pick one. Congrats on your 100th blog post I have trouble keeping up with my blog. I haven’t posted in ages!!!

  36. spinninginthevortex says:

    Heavens, what a beautiful and generous way to mark the celebration of your 100th post … Congratulations!! I’ve been spinning for less than a year and I’ve tried many different fibres but I have to say my most favourite is BFL, hands down. Mind you, I haven’t tried silk yet so it could change 🙂

  37. dustbunnys says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway! I will be back to read more of your posts.

    Fav fiber so far: Rambouillet. From Lazy Dog Farm in Wall Texas. Lovely stuff!

    I am excited about the CVM fleece I received and look forward to processing it. Such lovely crimp and the yarn will be so sproingy!

    Tobey

  38. Love the project bag and the spindle. Alas much as I love the look and feel of silk and my silk spindles I still have a hard time making them work well.

    My favorite fiber is what ever I happen to be spinning at the moment as long as it is not Alpaca or Paca-Vicuna both of which make my hands itch and my eyes water.

  39. My favorite fiber is targhee, but I love silk too. I am an advanced beginner spinner. I love to knit with wool.

  40. iriegemini says:

    Congrats on posting #100! Romney was my 1st fibre to spin & still my favourite! The spindle looks stunning:) Lignum vitae is my country’s national flower (Jamaica), and the wood always reminds me of home!

  41. kateohkatie says:

    WOW – amazing contest!

    I’m such a beginning spinner and have only spun wool, but I really enjoy it 🙂

    My favorite to knit, though is a 50/50 wool/silk blend – best of both worlds! 🙂

  42. udontno says:

    That is some gorgeous silk. I heard about this blog on Ravelry, looks interesting and I will definitely follow you. I haven’t started spinning yet, but I love to knit with alpaca. That being said, I haven’t tried much else–wool, cotton, alpaca, and acrylic is the extent of my fiber testing!

  43. My favorite fiber is whatever I’m spinning at the moment. I am partial to silk and alpaca.

  44. mariaknit says:

    I’m a new spinner, and I seem to keep discovering new favorite fibers… I think that my favorite right now is baby llama.

  45. abletodream says:

    Awesome giveaway! My favorite fiber to spin is BFL or Alpaca. I love the way both feel in my hands as I spin and the resulting yarn is always delicious. 🙂

  46. Mary says:

    Love your pretty project bag!

    My favorite fiber to spin? Wool, definitely. I like many different breeds, including Merino, Corriedale, BFL, Shetland, Falkland, Jacob, CVM, Targhee, Polwarth, Cormo, Rambouillet, etc. I do love other animals fibers, too — alpaca, guanaco, qiviut, yak, bunny, cashmere, mohair, silk, etc.. I’m an equal-opportunity spinner!

    Congrats on your 100th post! 🙂

    -Mary

  47. cavehillknitter says:

    Though I’ve knit with silk and it is dreamy, I’m a novice, novice with the spindle, still using easy wools, but the silk is lovely and spindle is beyond awesome. I would love to be the lucky recipient of this prize.

  48. windwalker523 says:

    I just learned to drop spin yesterday at Purl Jam (a local knitting retreat) and loved it. I enjoy knitting with all kinds of yarns and silk is a lovely fun yarn to use.

  49. katranwolf says:

    I think my fav fiber to spin is an angora/merino blend. It’s so soft and squishy and I love the slight halo that is shows once the yarn is plied. And I’m very picky on the fiber prep. A small bit of grass now and then is acceptable, but I want it clean and combed! 🙂

  50. ikkinlala says:

    I’m still fairly new to spinning, but my favourite fibre so far is BFL (which is also one of my favourite fibres to knit – it’s a lot harder to narrow it down to one fibre for knitting, though).

    Congratulations on 100 posts!

  51. knitfink says:

    Kaydgirl sent me over here. I just learned to spin yesterday at Purl Jam, and I’m so excited to continue with this new craft.

  52. bioniclaura says:

    Congratulations on your 100th post. Your blog looks great and I look forward to reading more of it. My favourite thing to spin that I’ve tried so far is alpaca fiber. I think I find it so special as I have washed, dyed and carded the fleece myself. It’s also so soft and fluffy and makes a fabulous warm yarn.

  53. kalamandah says:

    Wow! You have an amazing blog, and you are amazing for having this giveaway! It’s the best I’ve seen!

    My favorite fiber to spin is a luxury blend. Could be silk or alpaca, or superwash merino…I love them all! And I love to knit with a variety of fibers, too. I believe that a diverse stash, is a happy stash! 🙂

  54. knitterofhats says:

    My favorited fiber to knit with is soft cotton…Knit Picks Comfy, Hobby Lobby. Both are very soft and easy on my hands.

  55. mspalindrome says:

    As others said before, it’s tough to choose. There are so many great fibres out there. However, I’d say one of my favourite is shetland. It practically drafts itself.

    Since I got some hand carders I find it fascinating to card different kinds of fibres together and see how the result turns out. My last try was carding milk fibre and a german wool called Coburger Fuchs together, and I’m very happy with the sample. The milk fibre adds softness and shine, and the yarn gets a really nice texture.

  56. fiberxspin says:

    Yo! I was drawn to the blog by the chance to win that pretty spindle. My favorite fiber to spin at the moment is Cormo, although that could change with my next project. What prompted the love affair was some colored Cormo cross I picked up at Greencastle that’s being turned into my first sweater.

  57. spinsaknitty says:

    Pretty, pretty silk! I love spinning just about anything blended with silk but lately, my favorite fiber to spin is rommeldale/CVM. It’s soft and smooth and bouncy and just full of yum!

  58. hariotmagee says:

    I am a relatively new spinner and have not gotten to try many fibers yet, however my favorite so far is a merino silk blend….it is beautiful!

  59. angela678 says:

    I have been spinning for a few years now and I have spun many different wools and fibers and I my favorite is a silk and merino blend because you get the shine and staple length from the silk but the bounce of the merino.

  60. […] comments for the big giveaway close tonight!! I’m completely overwhelmed by the response, and so excited to draw the […]

  61. whengaiasmiles says:

    My favourite fiber to spin with is actually a tie between two kinds: fine baby alpaca roving and corridale combed top. Both are a joy to spin!

    Siobhán

  62. ::: Silk is by far my favorite fiber to spin; what’s yours? And, if you’re a new spinner (or not a spinner at all…yet!), what’s your favorite fiber to knit or crochet?:::

    Well! I like to play with different fibers, but I’ve had the most fun with silk blends or tencel blends. The tencel blends have this cool sheen to them and a nice staple length. The silk blends have a nice sheen too, but some blends have an irregular amount of silk so there ends up being blobs of silk swirls that happen in the yarn I make. I find Alpaca to be too fuzzy, and BFL can only get me so far in life. Silk and tencel blends are the way to go.

  63. […] June 14, 2010 in June 2010 | Tags: contests, spindles, two tails Woo hoo!  I won Jacie’s blog contest! […]

Comments are closed.