Herbivorous Maximus

While much of the rest of the East Coast has just been pummeled this winter, southern New England has been—much to my dismay—pretty mild. Here at La Casa de Weasel, even the houseplants seem to think it’s already springtime.

Little red flowers just blooming away

Even this one plant, which is just a green that always seems on the verge of death, is sprouting back to life on my windowsill.

Meet “Kitty,” the houseplant with nine lives

Maybe all the greenery booming around the house is what subconsiously inspired me to knit my Herbivore.

Like a giant cashmere-blend leaf on my shoulder

This was another pretty quick project and another wonderful yarn. The pattern requires a whole lot of knitting and purling through the back loop; even with that, it only took about a week and a half, start to finish.

Gotta love the textures going on here

The pattern is pretty ingenius for it’s effective use of texture on what would otherwise be a stockinette and rib shawl. I wasn’t sure about the garter-stitch edging, but I went with it and I love how it finishes the piece. The pattern was really intuitive, too; for most of it, I didn’t even need to look at the pattern, it was so easy to memorize.

A little cashmere goes a long way

To me, the yarn is what really makes this special. This is Caper Sock, a merino/cashmere/nylon blend from String Theory, in the “Poisedon” colorway. No matter how I try, I can’t get the color of this photographed accurately but, in the end, I don’t think it really matters. It’s beautiful in any light. It’s also soft and, after a good wet blocking on my wires, it’s wonderfully drapey and cozy.

My Herbivore is a little bigger than the pattern calls for, mostly because I wanted to use up as much of this skein as possible. So I knit until I felt it was as big as I could comfortably go, then did the garter edge and bind off.

All that’s left

I think I did pretty well in using up the yardage on this one.

My bamboo is going crazy right now too…

Feeling lucky?

…and someone should tell my Christmas cactus that it’s not Christmas anymore.

Look who’s budding

With snow in the forecast, though, all this greenery might be a bit premature. I’m not sure spring has sprung here quite yet!

One thought on “Herbivorous Maximus

Leave a Reply

