Finishing Up

Here’s what I really love about knitting: You take some string and sticks, put them together and after a while you have this crumpled mess of stitches.

Getting there...

Then you take those stitches, soak them for a little bit, string them up on some wire and get something similar to what you started with but a hundred million times better.

A lovely swoop of fabric

Herbivore slipped onto and off of my US 6 Addi Lace this week. I’d wanted to knit it for a while and had the perfect yarn stashed away just waiting. But more on Herbivore later….

Besides the newest shawl off my needles, I took the long weekend to finish up some long-standing spinning projects. First, I spun and plied the last of some kettle-dyed shetland humbug top from Shunklies that had been lingering for a while.

Bah, humbug!

I love shetland. It’s a woolier wool–totally unlike merino–and it’s just so much fun to spin. The texture, the crimp of the fiber, the way it drafts…it’s unlike any other wool I’ve spun to date.

Wooly goodness

The finished yarn is a nicely balanced light fingering weight. And I got a fantastic 487.5 yards out of the 3.5 ounces of top. I think this is destined to become a pair of colorwork mittens…eventually…

Gotta love the shetland

…but I think it might just make an appearance at Rhinebeck this fall first. I’m really, really happy with it.

After finishing the shetland, I set my mind toward clearing off my Bosworth mini.

From the Bosworth onto Little Joe

I got a nice sized cop off the rest of the bamboo/silk left after I finished plying it with that awful soysilk. I Navajo plied the singles into a heavy laceweight and wound up with little more than 180 yards of nicely finished yarn. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it, but I’m glad to finally have it done and to have my Bosworth ready for some new challenges.

There was something very rewarding about finishing up those spinning projects, and something even more rewarding about putting two more spindles into the empty-spindle vase for safe-keeping…though I can’t promise they’ll stay nekkid for long!

More on Herbivore to come, plus my latest finished socks and my newest cast on…can you ever really have enough triangular shawls?

One thought on “Finishing Up

  1. Emilee says:

    I love the colors of the Shetland!

Leave a Reply

