Ishbel, Plus: Help Send Dr. Al to Haiti!

I seem to have a thing for viral patterns lately. I guess you could call it “jumping onto a bandwagon,” but as I see it, they’re viral for a reason. They appeal to people with a broad variety of tastes, different likes and dislikes, for whatever reason. People just want to knit them.

Ishbel (rav link) is one of those patterns. And I understand why.

Ishbel

It’s fabulous. There is so much to love about this pattern. It knits up very quickly, and it’s very well written. It’s stylish, and uses the lace pattern very effectively.

Plus, it’s just plain pretty.

Love how Madori (and her puppy stairs) made it into this one

I knit it in Malabrigo Sock, the “Eggplant” colorway, and it’s a beautifully deep and dusky purple. I knit it on what’s shaping up to be my new favorite needle–my US 6 Addi Lace–and the yarn just opened up into this light, flowing fabric after a  good wet block on the wires. It’s really quite spectacular knit at this gauge.

On my fab and fluffy (sorry, sheepie, it isn’t vegan) new rug, for contrast

I wasn’t sure when I cast on what version of Ishbel I would knit. But it evolved into a large stockinette, small lace version, and I’m really happy with that decision. I started with the garter-stitch-pick-up thingy that so many top-down shawls seem to use, and I really like that technique. I like how the ridges of garter across the top are seamless and continuous across the entire shawl.

I also really like the yarn-overs on the right and wrong sides at the edging throughout the entire pattern. It’s a nice design element, and I like the softness it gives to the edging.

Voila!

So, another FO down! Feels like my needles are on fire lately, but that’ll slow down soon enough, unfortunatly.

In two bits of unrelated news: First, I won Chopped Tomatoes’s yarn-naming competition and a skein of her new Heavenly Infusion laceweight wool/cashmere blend! Woot! I chose her “Thicket” colorway, and I can’t wait to play with it! A little Aeolian, maybe? Some Evelyn Clark, perhaps? We shall see! You really should go check out her stuff, though. Her color palate is really, really beautiful. Thank you so much, Machelle!

Finally, Dr. Allison is a real doctor and fabulous person…so fabulous that she’s trying to go to Haiti to provide medical care to victims of the earthquake. She needs to raise little more than $1,000 to do it, though, and we need to help her! If you can give $5, $10, $20 or even more, every little bit will help! So please please please visit her blog, get in touch with her and lend her a helping hand.

Or, if you’re on Facebook, go to the Send Dr. Al to Haiti to Save Lives page for details on how you can donate. And invite your friends or give us a status update. Together, we will get Dr. Al to Haiti!!

This is one charity that absolutly gets the Weaselmomma stamp of approval!!

One thought on “Ishbel, Plus: Help Send Dr. Al to Haiti!

  1. Allison says:

    One day I too will have an ishbel….oh wips you kill me.

    And yes Send Dr. Al to Haiti is the best group EVER!!!

Leave a comment