Holly Jolly FOs

I hope everyone had a happy holiday. We sure did at La Casa de Weasel. And despite all the hectic-ness of the holidays, baking, family visits and all the rest, quite a bit of knitting was accomplished round these parts.

First, my order from WEBS arrived–with a single skein of Mulberry Merino safely ensconced–and my Beaumont was finished and blocking the very same night.

Graphic-print awesomeness

It’s just a little big on me, but I still love it. The yarn is buttery soft and drapey, and it haloed beautifully. The pattern is very well written, and worked up easily. If I were to knit it again with a yarn with this high a percentage of silk content, and therefore little actual structure, I’d go down a needle size on both the ribbing and the colorwork to tighten it up a bit.

Rocking the slouchy tam

Shortly before I finished Beaumont, the new Knitty went live, and some of the patterns really called to me. So, I dove into the stash, came out with three hanks of Malabrigo Worsted, grabbed my US 10 Addi Turbo and quickly cast on Stephanie Japel’s Frost Diamonds. In my opinion, this pattern was made for Malabrigo.

The warmest frost ever!

This knit up ridiculously fast. And it’s huge! The pattern was pretty simple; even though, I made a few mistakes. Luckily, with the colorway combined with the diamond lace pattern, the errors are almost invisible–even to me, and I tend to be pretty self-critical.

Loving the drape

I can definitly see the appeal of worsted weight lace. It’s still drapy, but it’s so warm and cuddly, and there’s real weight to the finished fabric. It makes a wonderful finished piece, and with it being so cold here now, I’m having trouble taking it off!

:::love:::

In new project news, I also fell in love with Citron from the new Knitty, and cast on with the hank of Malabrigo lace I picked up on the recent trip to WEBS with the doctors.

Little Mal ruffles

I can see how this could get tedious to knit as it gets larger, but so far it’s airy and sweet and I’m determined to power through.

Also in my WEBS delivery were these seven hanks of alpaca and tencel blend..

Classic Elite Miracle

…which are destined for Willoughby. I’ve had one false start on Willoughby already, but I will be giving it another try very soon.

2 thoughts on “Holly Jolly FOs

  1. Allison says:

    I love the hat and the shawl.

    The citron is also going to be beautiful.

  2. […] been tough to resist the temptation to cast this on. Ever since I gave away my Frost Diamonds, I’ve been craving a big, cozy Malabrigo shawl of my own. I didn’t want to knit the […]

Leave a Reply

