Adventures in Felting

I never do Christmas knitting. In fact, I’m notably anti-Christmas knitting. But there are a few people on my list that are always difficult to buy for.

So this year, I caved. And French Press Slippers (Rav link) made it a year of remarkably non-stressful Christmas knitting.

French Presses, all in a row

I’ve only attempted felting once before, and it was an utter disaster. It was a felted purse, and I knit it far too tightly. On top of that, I decided to try felting by hand…not a good idea at all. It resulted in a whole lot of frustration and total felting failure.

So, the first pair were experimental…and it kinda shows. But luckily, they were not gifts but were for me!

Voila!

For this pair, I used Knitpicks Wool of the Andes in “Cranberry” and my US 15 straights.  The knitting went quick enough. The assembly…was less than stellar. And the first attempt at felting. Yeah, not so great. A lot of holes developed and they just felted kinda uneven after three runs through the washer.

I patched the holes and sent them back through for one more cycle, and they did come out a little better. But there are clearly parts that did not felt as well as others. They fit well, and they’re very cozy…but I’m a little less than thrilled with them.

So, I was a little nervous about future pairs. For those, though, I just used Paton’s Classic Wool (yay for Black Friday sales!)…and what a difference that made!

So cute!

This gray pair is for my gram, and they felted perfectly after only two runs through the wash! Wow!

And this black pair is for my brother’s girlfriend, Annaliese, and they only took three washes to felt up so nicely!

Love these!

I did the seams different on these, and they felted much better. There’s no stitch definition on these two pairs at all. All three pairs have puffy paint soles because they were pretty slippery on the hardwood without them. All in all, I think they’ll make really nice gifts, and they took very little time to make…bonus!

Also, aren’t the buttons awesome! They’re handcovered in cottons and silks from LiDDesigns Supplies, and I’m more than a little in love with them. And I might have more where these came from. Because they’re fantastic and really very well constructed.

With my minimal amount of Christmas knitting done, I’ve started a couple new projects. One uses this fantastic buttery, amazing yarn from Plymouth

:::swoon:::

…and I started some thrummed socks. Can we say toasty toes?!

Ummmmm…Lorna’s Laces DK weight merino/silk….

Finally, I’ve discovered bombyx top…

Hi, there. Today we’re going to spin some silk thread.

…and it’s going quite well.

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Felting

  1. Emilee says:

    Your spinning continues to amaze me.

  2. Allison says:

    I love the buttons… and I agree with Emilee the spinning is amazing.

Leave a Reply

