Spinning Update: Making Progress

I need more hands.

If not more hands, then more hours in the day.

If not more hours in the day, then a new evolutionary adaptation that eliminates the need for sleep.

My beautiful Butterfly Girl spindle and Ashland Bay merino/tussah silk top

I need at least one of these things because there’s so many things I need to do on a daily and weekly basis that I just don’t have enough time for the things I really want to do.

Like spinning. And knitting.

I’m fighting off some serious spinning startitis right now. It’s tough. I have three–three–naked spindles right now as I’m working to finish up some of the projects I have going right now. And I am making some progress, slowly but surely.

I wound the first singles from the “pewter” merino/tussah silk project off the spindle, but I still have a long way to go on this project.

Spun silver singles
Spun silver singles

I still have to finish the second ply of pewter singles before I can start the third ply with this maroon merino, which I’m hoping will bring out the subtle burgandy tones in the pewter top.

From W.C. Mercantile on Etsy.com
From W.C. Mercantile on Etsy.com

I’m slowly making progress on the soy silk project too, but the real focus of my efforts has been on the merino/bamboo. I finished the first two batts, then wound the singles off the spindle.

Pretty purple singles
Pretty purple singles

This is when I really started getting excited about this yarn. It’s really freaking pretty. Like really pretty. I’m almost halfway through the third batt; only one left after that and then I can ply…though I have to say, the decision to ply this is a tough one. This is really nice as a single. Luckily, I still have plenty of time to change my mind.

I haven’t really shown off the Greensleeves I’m spinning this on, but I must say that I’m completely in love with this spindle.

My Greensleeves Tom Foolery
My Greensleeves Tom Foolery

Not only is it oh, so easy on the eyes, it’s also the second best spinner in my collection, right after the Bosworth. I was unsure about the hook on this one when I first picked it up, but it’s really well designed and balanced. Another of these, like maybe the bloodwood and ebony version perhaps, is probably very likely in my future.

I’ve learned from this project that I’m not crazy about spinning batts on a spindle. I have no idea why this is. I think batts are so beautiful; I love looking at them and I think Fiber Monster’s batts are just amazing. But when it comes to actually spinning them…I dunno. Very little appeal. Maybe that’ll change with time…here’s hoping!

That being said, these batts are spinning up really nicely. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t trying really hard to finish these up so that I could start something like this…

Hints of Lilac, merino/tussah silk from WC Mercantile
“Hints of Lilac,” merino/tussah silk from WC Mercantile

or this…

Deep Sea, merino/tencel from WC Mercantile
“Deep Sea,” merino/tencel from WC Mercantile

….both of which are just sitting pretty, waiting for me.

And in case it isn’t obvious enough already, WC Mercantile is A.W.E.S.O.M.E. Period.

The only downside about spinning that I can identify, besides the urge to constantly splurge on more pretty pretty spindles and pretty pretty fiber (which I’m dealing with quite well…yay willpower!), is that it takes away from my knitting time. My progress on handknits has definitly slowed since I started spinning.

Not complaining, though. Not one little bit!

Leave a Reply

