Heavenly

I’m so freaking proud of this right here.

On Cloud Nine
On “Cloud Nine”

I ended up with 129 yards of this amazing stuff, which I’m calling “Cloud Nine.” I used all of the 4 ounces of cotswold locks–every last one with the exception only of a couple clumps of locks that were curled so tightly that they were too full of VM (vegetative matter) to even try to salvage–and about half the merino.

Also of note: Some of the locks that were more saturated in color had a stickiness to them while spinning. I don’t know if it was dye residue or lanolin in the locks. I washed the final yarn in hot, hot water with some mild wash and rinsed it well. It bled a lot of dye in the wash, but the color stayed very saturated and now the same locks are super soft and fluffy. The wash was really key with this yarn.

Two amazing skeins
Two amazing skeins

This is one of those rare occasions where what I imagined actually became reality. When I ordered these locks, before they even arrived in my mailbox, I had a picture in my mind of what I wanted the final yarn to be. I even prepared myself for disappointment because I wasn’t sure if I could pull it off. But somehow, my hands did it.

Perfect
Perfect

An added bonus: This stuff is just so much fun to photograph. Every time I put the camera on it, I find a new and interesting shot, a different twist of locks, another shot of co-mingling color.

We could be muppets...and thus, we are awesome
We could be muppets…and thus, we are awesome

And yes, my new favorite photo studio is the top of my snare. My drums are set up in the front of the apartment, which is sort of rounded and has these three amazing windows in a row…great lighting opportunities.

Monster was perfect for this project; not my greatest spinner of a spindle (evidenced clearly when I picked up my Greensleeves last night, which spins like a whorlwind), but I didn’t really need a fast spinner for this. I needed capacity on the shaft and I actually needed a slow mover so that I could park the spindle, add the individual locks and send the twist up the strand. Monster will probably end up mostly being my plying spindle, but I’ll definitly pull him out for art yarns in the future.

And yes, I have been knitting too. There’s the Ugly Nutkins, which are on time out because they’re just so freaking ugly I don’t know what I want to do with them…

What an ugly sock!
What an ugly sock!

…and there’s the Socks of Kindness, which are little more than a single cuff right now but are working up very, very nicely.

Fuzzy alpaca socks
Fuzzy alpaca socks
This is a terrible photo of the Kindness Socks, BTW. The yarn is very purple and looks a lot more red-brown here than it truly is. The living room couch is no match for the top of the snare. But, you get the idea. 
Leave a Reply

