Feeling Caliente?

No? Then step a little closer to el Fuego!

Fuego
If you can’t stand the heat…

This is “Fuego,” 93 yards of fingering weight merino/tencel blend. Es muy caliente, no?

Check the 2-ply twists
Check the 2-ply twists

I picked up the fiber at Rhinebeck from The Sheep Shed at Mountain View Farm. The braid was 2 ounces in their colorway, “Fire.”

Wouldnt you want to play with fire too?
Wouldn’t you want to play with fire too?

This was a quick, fun spin, and merino/tencel is quickly becoming one of my favorite blends to spin. This was spun and Andean plyed on the spindle that I’ve affectionately dubbed “Monster,” which is now heavy with merino and curly, curly cotswold locks.

My favorite Monster
My favorite Monster

Monster is by far my largest spindle at 15 inches long and my heaviest at 1.8 ounces. As mentioned, Monster is from Heavenly Handspinning; the capacity of this spindle is just amazing, especially considering that I can still spin fairly fine on it despite its size.

Oh, and in case I piqued your interest, here’s a detail shot of what Monster’s carrying right now.

Curly locks and a skinny single
Curly locks and a skinny single

This is a very, very fun project.

More to come…

Leave a Reply

