Greenery…and Some Gray

So, who’s it gonna be?

You?

Potential Flower No. 1
Potential Flower No. 1

Or will it be you??

Potential Flower No. 2
Potential Flower No. 2

Which bud will give me my first pretty little gardenia? I guess only time will tell…but I’m really enjoying my new houseplants. One of the beautiful things about living in an old house are those wonderful old-style design features, like ripply plaster walls and decorative molding on each window and doorway…and deep windowsills just waiting to be filled with foliage.

And a windowsill herb garden is most definitely in the future!


Yesterday marked the next phase of Big Changes…and this part, and all the lead up to this part, was much harder than the first part.


So, I’ve been trying to keep busy, and I decided to take a big leap: I’m working on my first handknit for Mr. Blue-eyes. And, of course, it has to be socks.
A manly sock for a manly man
A manly sock for a manly man
And its a purdy sock too!


This is the Gentleman’s Sock in Railway Stitch from Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage Socks, which is fast becoming a favorite go-to sock book.
A melding of stripes and texture
A melding of stripes and texture
I really like this sock. I wasn’t sure if I would really dig the combination of a textured stitch with striped details, but they just look so classic together. Interesting without being overwhelming, patterned while maintaining its masculine feel.


But a chick could totally pull off this pattern too.
Stitch Love
Stitch Love
The yarn is Valley Yarns Huntington, which I bought from WEBS in a fit of stash enhancing some time ago because, let’s face it, it’s a *fantastic* price for superwash sock yarn. It’s a great solid-color sock yarn that shows stitch definition beautifully, but it is really splitty. It does take some concentration to make sure that I’m getting all the plys with my stitches, but the end result is lovely. And this is a comfy sock.
A stripey, tapered toe
A stripey, tapered toe
I’m totally guessing on the size here, and I’m relying in the build-in stretch of the pattern, which is considerable.  Mr. Blue-eyes’ feet are longer and wider than mine, and his calves are considerably thicker, but there is some calf shaping in the pattern and there’s a lot of ease. So I’m hopeful that these will work out.
A very cozy sock
A very cozy sock
If not…well, they do fit me alright…
One thought on “Greenery…and Some Gray

  1. Emilee says:

    Ooh, lucky you, Gardenias are so pretty. My last one didn’t survive the move between college and my first apartment, sadly 😦

    Nice socks!

Leave a Reply

