Ch-ch-ch-changes!

There are Big Changes in the making at Casa de Weaselmomma.

And while these Big Changes are stressful and scary, and have definately been wrought with a fair amount of both excitement and freaking out, my feeling is that the Big Changes are ultimately for the best.

The timing could probably be better. Work is gearing up for super busy time, and the frigid weather will surely make this whole ordeal slightly less pleasant; but I know in my heart I’m making the right moves.

More details later.

For now, I’ll just give you a sock:

Who doesnt love them some herringbone?
Who doesn’t love them some herringbone?

See, I have been knitting!

Why hello there, little herringbone stitches! You’re lucky you’re oh, so pretty, because you are a total pain in the ass!

This is the Herringbone Rib pattern (Ravelry link) excerpted in the most recent Interweave Knits from Knitting Socks with Handpainted Yarn by Kristi Schueler. And while I’ve turned the heel on the second sock, and I’ve made it to the home stretch on this project, this has been one labor intensive and time consuming pair of socks. The herringbone pattern is formed with a whole mess of slipped stitches, yarn overs and pass-overs, and the slipped stitches have really slowed down the works, especially when it came to the leg of the sock.

So. Many. Slipped. Stitches. Oy.
So. Many. Slipped. Stitches. Oy.

The fabric is quite dense; this is not a dainty sock by any means. I’m knitting this on my trusty US 1 dpns, so I cast on for the larger size sock, which called for 72 stitches…knowing that the slipped stitches were going to reduce the stretchiness of the sock. It was a good call, too. Despite the YOs and the ribbing, there’s little stretch to the pattern, and the smaller size would have never slipped over my heel.

And then, there’s the yarn. The yarn is Cherry Tree Hill Sockittome, a superwash wool and nylon blend, that was handpainted by Lynda of Ancient Threads Fibers with all natural plant and insect dyes. I picked it up at my LYS on a splurge on day, and the colors are just beautiful. I wish I hadn’t lost the ballband, because then I could tell you all the really cool things that this is dyed with (I know osage is one of them) but alas and alack, that ballband is simply nowhere to be found.

I have actually been spinning, too. I rolled the first bit of pretty tussah off the spindle a while ago. But I’ll be damned if 2 oz. of fiber doesn’t take a heck of a long time to spin when you spin it fine! I may never make it to the end of this silk!

Leave a Reply

