The Great Sock Yarn Stashbust

Some knitters like hats. Others scarves. Still others churn out beautiful sweater after beautiful sweater.

While I mix it up, my true love is so obvious. I love knitting socks.

I love everything about knitting socks. The repeats down the leg. The sense of accomplishment at turning that heel. The anticipation of completion as those toe decreases begin to go faster and faster. Hell, I even love grafting the toe with kitchener stitch and weaving in the ends. Putting on a pair of completed socks that I’ve hand knit is such a rewarding thing for me.

And sock yarns are just so much fun. I could never pull off a sweater with crazy striping and pooling, and some of the colors that I wear on my feet would never go near my face. Also, what is unbearably itchy on my body is tolerable on my feet (like merino). So me and socks, we’s like peas and carrots.

Which means I have a lot of sock yarn.

My pretty sock yarn stash
My pretty sock yarn stash

There’s more than 13 pairs of socks right there. Just waiting for my hands to catch up with my spending habits. Not to mention all the fun I plan to have with those little remnant balls in the upper left corner there. A whole world of possibilities.

So, being always just a tad behind the 8 ball here, as Socktoberfest draws toward it’s close, I’m initiating the Great Sock Yarn Stashbust of 2008. Look out! I lost a lot of ground working on the Surf Hoodie (yes, I know…I’ll get to blogging about it eventually), so I plan to come back with a vengence.

And I’ve started already. What isn’t in the stash photo is some beautiful Shibui sock in the “Midnight” colorway that I bought from Webs a few months ago.

The Shibui is slowly becoming this:

Look! A little ribbi, lacy sock!
Look! A little ribbi, lacy sock!

It’s the Merino Lace Socks from Interweave’s Favorite Socks. I’m knitting them on my trusty US 1 Susan Bates dpns–which, while they’ve definately got some noticable curve to them, are still my absolute favorite needles–even though the pattern calls to be worked on two circular needles.

The photograph of these socks in the book does them no justice whatsoever. Even my photo doesn’t do this pattern justice. The real beauty shines through when you slip this one on your foot.

Madori weasels her way into the picture of the pretty sock.
Madori weasels her way into the picture of the pretty sock.

Look at all those little lacy swirls.

The Shibui works nicely with this pattern, and the color is lovely. My only complaint about the yarn is that it’s notably uneven. It has a thick-and-thin quality to it that I’m not crazy about. In that regard, it’s similar to Noro’s sock, but nowhere near as stiff. It does make a nice sturdy fabric, though, which gives me hope that these babies will wear very well.

One really beautiful element to this sock is the back lace panel, which continues into the heel.

Waving lacy leaves
Such pretty swirls!

Such a nice pattern element. Really compliments the rest of the sock.

I’m pleased to say that these are really moving right along. The pattern’s easy enough that I’m cruising right along, but requires enough of my attention that I’m not feeling bored at all. Which is a great way to start using up my sock stash.

And, with Knitting Vintage Socks, Knitting on the Road, Folk Socks and Folk Knitting in Estonia now nestled in my library (thanks to Interweave’s “hurt book” sale a few months ago) along with my growing collection of Interweave Knits (best magazine subscription EVER!) and the awesome that are Ravelry pattern downloads, I am just filthy with sock patterns.

And it’s a damn good kind of filthy, let me tell you.

Leave a Reply

