The *Official* Rhinebeck Loot

I have to begin by saying that I’m exceedingly proud of myself. I set a budget for the day at Rhinebeck, and not only did I keep to the budget, I actually came in $20 under.

Score!

And I didn’t do too badly either, though I realized afterwards that I only got one actual skein of yarn, all the rest of the day was devoted to fiber. Some of which will be spun (or attempted to be spun…may be more accurate), and some of which will be thrummed.

So, if I’m only gonna buy one skein, it’d better be sock and it’d better be worth it.

Sock Yarn Love
Sock Yarn Love

Success! It’s a neopolitan-esque superwash merino and bamboo rayon blend sock yarn, and it’s fabulous and I can’t wait to knit it up!

So, now you’re probably wondering about the fiber.

Yeah, I may have gone a *little* overboard on the fiber.

But can you really blame me? I got a little excited, and well, I wanted to try out as many different types of fiber as possible, so where better to get such a great and diverse selection, like pretty merino/tencel…

So shiny and soft.
So shiny and soft.

…or this beautiful merino/tussah silk blend that looks like strands of pewter and feels like silk….

Wow. Just wow.
Wow. Just wow.

…or this pretty, crimpy merino and tencel blend…

I love the soft purples.
I love the soft purples.

 ….or hand painted cashmere down…

So light and fluffy!
So light and fluffy!

…or hand-dyed soy silk roving…

I will learn to spin you, my pretty.
I will learn to spin you, my pretty.

…or tussah silk in the most beautiful blues imaginable…

I cannot believe this shade of blue!
I cannot believe this shade of blue!

…or tussah silk in fire colors that you buy (with the help of an awesome enabler, like Kate) because you just can’t choose between fire or water…

Such an unbelievably beautiful color
Such an unbelievably beautiful color

or merino and bamboo batts that my camera simply does not do justice?

This photo does *nothing* for the amazing deep purple of these batts.
This photo does *nothing* for the amazing deep purple of these batts.

Really, I’m out of control.

I also brought home a copy of Franklin‘s little book, and even got it signed by the artist himself!

Yarn is inherently funny
“Yarn is inherently funny”

Finally, there’s this, which I hinted at in my previous post:

Pretty little spindle
Pretty little spindle

It’s a Bosworth, and I’m kinda getting the hang of it, I think. Maybe. Maybe not. Hard to say. I have to pre-draft the hell out of the roving to reduce my spinning frustration to an acceptable level. But I’m kinda getting it. Sort of.

Check the wicked-uneven, probably overspun, first of my spinning adventure.
Check the wicked-uneven, probably overspun, first of my spinning adventure.

As you’ll notice, that’s not what I bought at Rhinebeck. Actually, this fiber is to blame for my foray into spinning, so I thought it only prudent that I spin it as my first attempt. This is from the Mocha Latte Merino batts I bought from Fiber Monster to thrum with.

Except it didn’t want to be thrums.

It wanted to be spun.

So I bought a spindle to spin it.

And bought a lot more fiber to keep it company.

So beautiful. So evil.
So beautiful. Yet so evil.

I know.

I have the sickness now. And I need to clean out one of my under-the-bed storage bins (I don’t really need all those sweaters under there, do I? It’s not like it gets cold here or anything…) because I have *nowhere* to put all this fiber.

So sick.
Leave a Reply

