The *Official* Weaselmomma Rhinebeck Post

Wow. I’m still recovering from Rhinebeck, but what a fantastic day it was!

The caravan (we had to officially downgrade, as we were no longer a convoy) left Jenny‘s place a little after 7:00 a.m. Saturday morning. We took the scenic route to New York, which was absolutely beautiful.

Some spontaneous leaf peeping did occur
Some spontaneous leaf peeping did occur

We got to the fairgrounds a little after 9:00, and it was…a bit chilly. Not gonna lie. I was decked out in handknits to beat the cold. It was a bit over the top, but at least I was warm. And, while we were standing in the sun outside the main gate, a very nice lady gave us THREE FREE admissions!! Nice ticket lady, I don’t know who you were, but THANK YOU SO MUCH!

The *Official* Rhinebeck Roo
The *Official* Rhinebeck Roo

Now, I’m not sure why there was a kangaroo…

One of the *Official* Rhinebeck Ringtail Lemurs
One of the *Official* Rhinebeck Ringtail Lemurs

 …or a whole mess of lemurs. But there were. Maybe there’s some new lemur-fiber trend going on that I’m not aware of, but it definately set the stage for a crazy day to see lemurs and a kangaroo right inside the main gate.

At first, I was completely overwhelmed. I had no idea where to begin, and the sheer volume (of vendors and people) was intense. So, being a noob, I trusted the wisdom of experienced Rhinebeckers and went with the flow.

There were wheels to try…

Somebody pry Jenny off that Golding!
Somebody pry Jenny off that Golding!

…and pretty spindles to oggle…

Ohhhh, the pretty....
Ohhhh, the pretty….

…and fine fashions to model.

the chicken hat
Maura, with the season’s hottest trend: the chicken hat

There were also goats…

Goat butts!
Goat butts!

 …and llamas…

Dude, theyre llamas!
Dude, they’re llamas!

 …and bunnies…

Soooo soft and fluffy!
Soooo soft and fluffy!

…and freaking adorable alpacas… 

I *love* the bangs!
I *love* the bangs!

…and lots and lots of sheep. There were black sheep…

A very sweet sheep came to say hi.
A very sweet sheep came to say hi.

 …and white sheep…

Snoozing in the sun
Snoozing in the sun

 …and spotted sheep…

A Jacob scratches an itch.
A Jacob scratches an itch.

 …and sheep with dreadlocks…

I like the curly Cotswold.
I like the curly Cotswold.

…and even shameless nekkid sheep!

Nudies!!!
Nudies!!!

 There was also tasty lamb stew…

Ummm...the taste of innocence...
Ummm…the taste of innocence…

 …and burgers with some crunch.

Ill take my burger hockey-puck style.
I’ll take my burger hockey-puck style.

 And there was fiber. And there was yarn. And there will be photos of that in the very near future. There was also a spindle in my future…one of these, a mini one…that is currently frustrating the hell out of me…but I am determined to figure it out and make it happen. Just don’t as me how my spinning’s going yet, ok?

But most of all, best of all, there was a day full of laughter, happiness, admiration, sing-a-longs and fun with friends and fellow fiber afficinados.

The Connecticut River Stitch n Bitch
The Connecticut River Stitch ‘n’ Bitch

Can’t think of a better way to spend a Saturday in October.

More on fiber, spinning and the official debut of the Apres Surf Hoodie to come, as well as my first experience with the beautiful Shibui and the forthcoming Great Sock Yarn Stashbust.

Leave a Reply

