Knitter’s Magic

Tangles and tanglesWhat’s driving me crazy now? Finding the right buttons.

I’m thinking wood. Or bone. Or horn. Or a combination of one of the three with brass.

But I’ve yet to find the one that really makes me go, “Wow! That’s it!”

Ah, dilemmas.

Where's my buttons?Tangled Yoke is just crying for some buttons, though. Very badly. Especially now that she’s all washed and blocked and pretty. The stitches didn’t even out quite as well as I’d hoped they would, but I have a good feeling they’ll get better with wear.

Or with a good trip through the washing machine. I have an even better feeling that hand washing isn’t going to cut it with this one.

This is pretty workhorse stuff.

Sproingy and Smooshy Lace

What isn’t workhorse is this lace-weight Malabrigo. It’s as delicate and beautiful as it comes. And the flame lace pattern is working perfectly with the colorway. I’m digging this project. Hardcore. After a stressful weekend, one of those weekends where you actually can’t wait to go back to work on Monday, this was exactly what I needed.

I haven’t done much lace, beyond the Razor Shell Lace Scarf of Doom that is, but what I really love about it is how downright homely it looks while you’re knitting on it. Then, when it comes time for a blocking, it’s like knitter’s magic.

I tried to explain it to my non-knitting mother, about how that one little hang was going to produce a sizeable piece of knitting and about how some fibers have memory. Totally over her head, one of those yeah-right-sure-thing-like-I’d-buy-that responses.

Knitter’s magic, I say.

What also helps with a rough weekend? Four-inch blue suede stilletos on sale at Macy’s. Plus a coupon. More on those later…

What really helped with this rough weekend? The return of Radio 104. A whole lot more on that later too…

Leave a Reply

